Portugal and Spain drawn in same group

Dec 04, 2017, 00:40
Portugal and Spain drawn in same group

Ronaldo of course plays his club football for Real Madrid, so is bound to face several of his teammates on June 15, including central defender and Spain captain Sergio Ramos. Let's take a closer look at the bracket.

Yet Russia will get Spain in the last 16 if they fail to win their group and the 2010 World Cup champions make it past Portugal in a Group B that also includes Morocco and Iran.

Spain coach Julen Lopetegui remained cautious after seeing the group that Spain were handed in the draw for next summer's World Cup, held in Moscow.

Brazil are the record five-time champions but were left reeling following a thumping 7-1 defeat to Germany on home soil in the semifinals at the 2014 World Cup.

Portugal would likely face Nigeria/Croatia/Peru/Denmark in the quarterfinals and Germany/Belgium/England/Colombia in the semifinals. Messi will turn 31 during the tournament, meaning this will probably be his last chance to win the World Cup as well.

Neymar's Brazil meanwhile will have to negotiate a group including Switzerland, Costa Rica and Serbia as they seek a sixth title.

Germany was placed with Mexico, Sweden and South Korea in Group F as Joachim Loew's men try to become the first nation to retain the title since Brazil in 1962.

Mutko was the Minister of Sport between 2008 and 2016 and is the head of Russia's World Cup organizing committee.

The French team and their potent strike force of Antoine Griezmann will play Australia, Peru and Denmark in Group C. Portugal is a great team, Morocco has not lost a game in qualifying.

Australia have been in disarray since qualifying and are now searching for a new coach following the resignation of Ange Postecoglou.

"It is a complicated, difficult and hard group, but it couldn't be any other way in a World Cup", he said to the Spanish media after the draw.

Japan's veteran coach Vahid Halilhodzic vowed to avenge his side's humiliating 4-1 thrashing by Colombia at the 2014 World Cup.

The tournament that spans 11 cities and 12 stadiums kicks off when host nation Russian Federation take on Saudi Arabia on June 14 in Moscow's Luzhniki Stadium.

Russia's other opponents in Group A are Uruguay, led by Barcelona's Luis Suarez, and Egypt, spearheaded by Liverpool striker Mohamed Salah.