Galen Rupp and Tirunesh Dibaba Are Chicago Marathon Champions

Oct 09, 2017, 00:31
Galen Rupp and Tirunesh Dibaba Are Chicago Marathon Champions

It's been 15 years since an American man has won the 40th annual Bank of America Chicago Marathon, but that record was broken today after Galen Rupp became the first American man to win the Chicago Marathon since 2002.

The last American to win the men's race was Khalid Khannouchi in 2002.The women's race was won by Ethiopian Tirunesh Dibaba in 2 hours 18 minutes and 31 seconds.

Before Sunday, Khalid Khannouchi was the last American victor when he crossed the finish line first in 2002.

Last year's champion Abel Kirui of Kenya finished second.

"This is my third marathon and I'm very happy to have won here", Dibaba said. "I've made the mistake in the past of going too hard, too soon..."

The lead pack slowly dwindled over the next 10km, leaving only Rupp, Kirui and Ethiopia's Sisay Lemma after 22 miles. "It feels tremendous. I feel so great I was able to pull it out". She missed the course record but clocked her second-fastest time ever. She went out with an aggressive pace and was all alone by the 30-kilometer mark. Only Deena Kastor's 2:19:36 at the 2006 London Marathon is the fastest marathon by an American woman.

She has won several laurels for the East African country at the Olympics and in other global competitions. Chicago was Rupp's fourth marathon and he has never finished worse than third in a 42.2K with a victory at the 2016 U.S. Olympic Trials, a second-place finish at the 2017 Boston Marathon and bronze medal at the 2016 Olympics.

Dibaba, 32, is a two-time 5,000m world champion and three-time 10,000m world champion who settled for second at this year's worlds in London, trailing only compatriot Almaz Ayana.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.