Lexi Thompson Penalised Four Strokes To Lose Major

Apr 07, 2017, 02:03
Lexi Thompson Penalised Four Strokes To Lose Major

(Meaning that without the penalty, she would've posted a commanding four-shot win.) Instead, Ryu birdied the first hole of the playoff, and Thompson was forced to settle for the runner-up spot.

The sanction related to an incident nearly 24 hours earlier, in which she incorrectly replaced a marked ball, that was missed by course officials but investigated following an email from a television viewer.

No one saw it on Saturday during the round and Thompson completed her round and appeared to be heading to victory on Sunday with a 3 shot lead with 6 holes remaining.

She incurred a two-stroke penalty for playing from the wrong place, and a two-shot penalty for returning an incorrect scorecard.

"It's unfortunate that happened", Thompson said.

"I had to regroup myself". I tried to gather myself and I made a great putt at 13. "It was entirely down to the support I got from them that I was able to hang in there". I learned a lot about myself and how much I have in me.

"I don't want anything that happened yesterday to take away from Seo Yun's (sic) victory".

Ryu So-yeon poses for a picture with a trophy after winning the ANA Inspiration in the first playoff hole against Lexi Thompson at Rancho Mirage Mission Hills Country Club in California on Sunday.

The controversy distracted from a superb final round, during which Thompson carded seven birdies, including one on the 13th hole immediately after being informed of the penalty.

When rules official Sue Witters told Thompson about the punishment, Thompson asked: "Is this a joke?"

You know it's 2017 when... Probably the best golf I played all week.

"Viewers at home should not be officials wearing stripes", Woods said on Twitter.

I also want to thank the fans around the world who have reached out to me to offer their support, and for being there for me in this hard situation. On top of that, LPGA rules officials were alerted to Thompson's error by a viewer who emailed the tour.

I think it would be only fitting that the person that did this step forward or be made available to the media. "There's no other sport where anybody can call in and say, 'Oh, that was a foul.' It just doesn't happen". "I did not intentionally do that (violation)".

Ryu was the lucky beneficiary as she claimed a second major title after making a four in the play-off, but admits her win does not feel right. "I'm incredibly proud of not only the way you handled it, but the way you played".

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE
popular